Washington

Medical: Yes

Recreational: Yes

Washington’s recreational cannabis program is operated by the Washington State Liquor Control Board (WSLCB). Washington’s medical cannabis program is primarily operated by the state’s Department of Health, which is also responsible for the application and registration process for medical cannabis patients. The official state Cannabis Traceability System is MJ Freeway.

washington cannabis laws

Grower/Cultivator licenses allow licensees to cultivate, dry, trim, or cure and package marijuana for sale to a processor or dispensary.

Cultivator Licenses (not available currently)

Tier 1 License – Up to 2,000 square feet of dedicated plant canopy.  

Tier 2 License – 2,000-10,000 square feet of dedicated plant canopy.  

Tier 3 License – 10,000-30,000 square feet of dedicated plant canopy.  

Application Fee (Non-Refundable): $250 
Annual Fee for Issuance and Renewal: $1480 
Change of location/ownership fee: $75
 
 

Tracking System Info

The state of Washington requires cultivation operations to use a seed-to-sale tracking software. Flourish software offers seed-to-sale tracking as one of the core features and is designed to help cultivators stay compliant at all times.

Processor licenses allow licensees to purchase marijuana from a grower and extract resin from the marijuana or create a marijuana-infused product for sale and transfer in packaged form to a dispensary or a caregiver.

Processor Licenses (not available currently)

Application Fee (Non-Refundable): $250 
Annual Fee for Issuance and Renewal: $1480 
Change of location/ownership fee: $75
 

Testing licenses allow licensees to receive cannabis from a cultivator or primary caregiver and test it for contaminants and other substances.

Established medical labs in Washington can act as 3rd party testing labs for testing both medical and recreational cannabis if they meet certain certification criteria.

 

MORE INFO ON TESTING LICENSES

Secure transporter licenses allow licensees to store cannabis and transport it between facilities for a fee.

Transporter Licenses

Application Fee (Non-Refundable): $250
Business License Application fee: $19
 
 
 

Retail/Dispensary licenses allow licensees to purchase cannabis from a grower or processor and sell, supply, or provide cannabis to patients, directly or through the patient’s caregiver.

Retail Licenses

Application Fee (Non-Refundable): $250 
Annual Fee for Issuance and Renewal: $1480 
Change of location/ownership fee: $75
 

Software to keep you compliant and competitive at all times

It's time to make your move.

Discover what Flourish can do for your cannabusiness.

Let's Talk